She has a point…

I was on the phone with a friend, E, who is in the midst of a disintegrating marriage. We must have talked for two hours. The week before I spent about the same amount of time talking to another girlfriend about her marriage. And I have a male friend who is also trying to decide on an exit strategy.

I try to be open-minded, supportive, but also ask hard questions. Mostly I listen. Whether to stay or whether to leave is no small decision. Things are always complicated because relationships and people’s needs are too. When there are children involved, there’s even more at stake.

The conversations provide food for thought and maybe a measure of clarity. E is in love with a married man. When she was telling me about the married man’s gripes with his wife, I gently said, “What he’s saying about her are the same things your husband says about you.” Which is true.  I want E to think about that because I don’t want her to end up in a relationship that results in her hearing the exact same bullshit she hears from her husband from another guy. She doesn’t need that.

Sometimes I think every suburban marriage is the same. Why pretend that leaving your husband for another man is going to change your life? You’ll still end up cleaning a house (just a different one), doing laundry, going grocery shopping, attending school events, hauling kids to extracurriculars (only now you’ll be dealing with his kids and your kids), and organizing (more complicated) family holidays. You’ll just be crawling into bed with a different person at the end of the day. Maybe that changes everything. I don’t know. Seems that if change is what you want, you need to change from the inside, not the outside.

But back to my friend, E. She said something really interesting to me about my marriage. I’ve been married for a really long time and in many ways, it’s been deeply satisfying, but, no surprise here, it’s also been hard. Like so many other couples my age, I’ve slid into my 40s feeling a bit unloved and unappreciated and wondering about the choices I’ve made in my life. There is a current of longing and discontent that runs beneath my happiness and surfaces from time to time.

My husband and I emerged from a really dark period in our lives together. I had thought maybe we’d come to the end of our relationship, but slowly, over time, there was healing. Things didn’t go back to the way they’d been during our glory days, but we found a comfortable way to be together, live together, raise our children together. Friendly. No more tension, no more avoidance, no more resentment, no more secret tears.

I mentioned this to E, telling her that my husband and I are friends again. She said, “How is he your friend? He doesn’t laugh at your jokes, he doesn’t care about your writing, he often thinks the things you say are inappropriate. NONE of your friends think that way about you. He doesn’t seem like he’s your friend to me.”

Wow. Just wow. What can I say? She has a good point. 

But one thing I know from my experience and all the relationship discussions I’ve participated in over the years is this: communicating disappointment with our spouses or significant others is easy, but capturing what we love about them, why we feel connected to them or to the relationship is much harder.

So I will take E’s words to heart and consider them. And then I’ll consider why she sees things the way she does–is she more objective? Why do I love the guy who comes through the door at the end of the day, even if he doesn’t laugh at my jokes and can be so uptight?  Plenty to think about when I’m lying awake at night.

More on this to come…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to She has a point…

  1. Di says:

    Sometimes, that new man in the bed at the end of a long day full of other peoples children and messes, is all that makes it worthwhile. We’re different people with different partners and people. It’s like science … where one person creates this reaction and that self another person creates another reaction or self to emerge.

    In so many ways, my second marriage is more difficult but I love the second man much more than that man I met when I was a child and he loves me so much more.

    Nothing is perfect and we just probably need to know ourselves well enough … that self inside … to know what we’re seeking, can stand or are willing to risk.

    Maybe 🙂
    I’m not wise yet.

  2. Racheal says:

    IMHO – I don’t think a spouse (or a friend for that matter) has to like everything about you. It is very rare that I laugh at my husbands attempt at jokes & he regularly says inappropriate things… but he is a good man who takes care of me & our kids, loves me & treats me like a queen. He doesn’t have to like my likes & not like what I don’t… we are 2 different people… I like it that way… we balance each other out. He keeps me from being too uptight & I help keep him grounded.

  3. Claire says:

    Di, Yes there is a lot of chemistry involved. I think about other men I might have married, and I visualize a different life and a different me, but that does not always mean a happier life or a better me.

    Rachael, I am a creative type who consistently falls for engineers and scientists. There is something to be said for balance and for the novelty of the person who thinks very differently than you do.

Leave a Reply

